Grief and loss are linked to adoption in many ways. Both are considered to be CORE issues in adoption and permanency (see the Seven Core Issues section of resources for more information). All members of the adoption constellation can experience grief and loss at any given stage in their adoption journey.  This could be by an adoptee who is being placed in a new home, a biological parent who is making an adoption plan for their child, or an adoptive parent who has experienced infertility.  

Grief often accompanies a loss. Grief can be exhibited through both emotional and behavioural acts. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross believes that there are five stages of grief: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance. It is important to note that these “stages” may be revisited at any stage in one’s life and occur in no particular order.

Counseling can be a very helpful support to those experiencing grief and loss.

5 Stages of Grief

Learning about emotions after loss can help us heal.

Grief, Loss, and Bereavement

Most people will experience loss at some point in their lives. Grief is a reaction to any form of loss.

Grief and Loss

Information from Adoptive Families Association of BC